François

The sole presence of a dog and its positive effect on the human psyche

It goes without saying that a school and visiting dog must be a well-behaved and well-balanced animal that does not lose its patience even in hectic and noisy situations. Nowadays you can find private persons, tutors, teachers and also otherwise trained persons with dogs of many breeds as well as crossbreeds in training institutions and companies. The number of training dogs is constantly increasing.

The characteristics of a visiting dog and school dog:

  • very human friendly and approachable
  • excellent mental skills
  • quick mental grasp
  • serenity, yet good assessment of situations
  • controllable, retrievable especially in critical situations
  • calm and balanced
  • highly socialised
  • non-jumpy
  • playful and open
  • high threshold of noise
  • no potential for aggression
  • excellent compatibility
  • high tolerance for body contact and unusual behaviour
  • deep, close and trusting relationship with the handler
  • very attentive and accessible

 

It’s here you’ll meet François. François is a mixed breed between Australian Shepherd and Bernese Mountain Dog. Both types of dogs are so-called herding dogs and were and still are used for herding cattle. In this case, however, the herding of the respective training group is in the foreground, which is also fully exercised.

Both breeds – Australian Shepherd and Bernese Mountain Dog – are highly intelligent and extremely sweet, reliable and attentive. François has the positive characteristics of both breeds, as well as the above mentioned qualities.

She has been a constant companion and caring assistant in my lessons since she was 8 weeks old – of course she came and comes to her mum every day. Since her dad unfortunately passed away a few months ago, she cannot see him anymore.

François knows how to cast a spell on people with just a glance of hers. She knows how to take away people’s discomfort and fear. At the same time, she knows very well that she has to be patient during a lesson until it is time to go out into the fresh air again. But she enjoys the cheerful faces that come towards her. Her patience is fabulous and her threshold of irritation cannot be reached. But even if she is gentle, she takes good care of her participants.

What can be accomplished:

  • Social barriers are unknown to a dog. The dog approaches people in a friendly and unconditional way and thus contributes to their relaxation.
  • The sole presence of a dog can already reduce stress in humans and give them a good feeling.
  • Impartially, the dog listens calmly to your voices and lets itself be cuddled.
  • The dog creates an atmosphere that is favourable to learning, because a completely new level of attention is reached.
  • Not to mention the feel-good factor in the presence of a loving dog.

Unfortunately, many people often cannot keep their own dog. In order to enable these people to still have the positive effect of a dog, there are visiting dogs.

At this point we are with François again. Whenever we are not ‘teaching’ together, we are either out in the wild or we visit older people in their homes or residential homes.

François

Alleinige Anwesenheit eines Hundes und seine positive Wirkung auf die menschliche Psyche

Es versteht sich von selbst, dass ein Schul- und Besuchshund ein wohlerzogenes und ausgeglichenes Tier sein muss, das auch in hektischen und lauten Situationen nicht die Geduld verliert. Heutzutage findet man Privatpersonen, Tutoren, Lehrer und auch anderweitig ausgebildete Personen mit Hunden vieler Rassen sowie Kreuzungen in Ausbildungseinrichtungen und Betrieben. Die Zahl der Ausbildungshunde nimmt ständig zu.

Die Wesenszüge eines Schul- und Besuchshundes:

  • sehr menschenfreundlich und zugänglich
  • ausgezeichnete geistige Fähigkeiten
  • schnelle geistige Auffassungsgabe
  • Gelassenheit, aber gute Einschätzung der Situationen
  • kontrollierbar, abrufbar insbesondere in kritischen Situationen
  • ruhig und ausgeglichen
  • hochgradig sozialisiert
  • nicht sprunghaft
  • spielerisch und offen
  • hohe Lärmschwelle
  • kein Aggressionspotential
  • ausgezeichnete Kompatibilität
  • hohe Toleranz für Körperkontakt und ungewöhnliches Verhalten
  • tiefe, enge und vertrauensvolle Beziehung mit dem Halter
  • sehr aufmerksam und zugänglich

 

Hier treffen Sie François. François ist ein Mischling zwischen Australischem Schäferhund und Berner Sennenhund. Beide Hundetypen sind so genannte Hütehunde und wurden und werden auch heute noch zum Hüten von Vieh verwendet. In diesem Fall steht jedoch die Hütung der jeweiligen Ausbildungsgruppe im Vordergrund, die auch voll ausgeübt wird.

Beide Rassen – Australischer Schäferhund und Berner Sennenhund – sind hochintelligent und äusserst lieb, zuverlässig und aufmerksam. François hat die positiven Eigenschaften beider Rassen, sowie die oben erwähnten Eigenschaften.

Seit sie 8 Wochen alt war, war sie eine ständige Begleiterin und fürsorgliche Assistentin in meinem Unterricht – natürlich kam und kommt sie jeden Tag zu ihrer Mutter. Da ihr Vater leider vor einigen Monaten verstorben ist, kann sie ihn nicht mehr sehen.

François weiß, wie man Menschen mit einem Blick von ihr verzaubern kann. Sie weiß, wie sie den Menschen ihr Unbehagen und ihre Angst nehmen kann. Gleichzeitig weiß sie sehr gut, dass sie während einer Unterrichtsstunde Geduld haben muss, bis es wieder Zeit ist, an die frische Luft zu gehen. Aber sie genießt die fröhlichen Gesichter, die auf sie zukommen. Ihre Geduld ist fabelhaft, und ihre Reizschwelle kann nicht erreicht werden. Aber obwohl sie sanft ist, kümmert sie sich sehr gut um ihre Teilnehmer.

Was kann erreicht werden:

  • Soziale Barrieren sind für einen Hund unbekannt. Der Hund geht freundlich und bedingungslos auf Menschen zu und trägt so zu deren Entspannung bei.
  • Schon die alleinige Anwesenheit eines Hundes kann beim Menschen Stress abbauen und ihm ein gutes Gefühl geben.
  • Unparteiisch hört der Hund ruhig auf Ihre Stimmen und lässt sich knuddeln.
  • Der Hund schafft eine lernfördernde Atmosphäre, weil eine völlig neue Aufmerksamkeitsstufe erreicht wird.
  • Ganz zu schweigen vom Wohlfühlfaktor in der Gegenwart eines liebevollen Hundes.

Leider können viele Menschen oft nicht ihren eigenen Hund halten. Damit diese Menschen trotzdem die positive Wirkung eines Hundes haben können, gibt es Besuchshunde.

Hier sind wir wieder bei François. Wann immer wir nicht gemeinsam „lehren“, sind wir entweder in der freien Natur oder wir besuchen ältere Menschen in ihren Häusern oder Wohnheimen.